IBPS PO XVI Main Exam October 2026: Pattern, Marks, Vacancies (7,565), Eligibility, Selection
Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS)✓ Checked against the official notice ·
Where is this recruitment now?
- Notification
- Apply
- Admit card
- Exam
- Answer key
- Result
| Organisation | Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) |
| Total posts | 7,565 (indicative, updated vacancies as on 27.08.2026; Union Bank of India not reported) |
| Qualification | Degree (graduation) in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India or an equivalent qualification; final result declared on or before 21.07.2026. |
| Age limit | 20 to 30 years as on 01.07.2026 (born between 02.07.1996 and 01.07.2006, both inclusive). Upper age relaxation: SC/ST 5 years, OBC (NCL) 3 years, persons with benchmark disabilities 10 years, eligible ex-servicemen / commissioned officers 5 years. |
| Pay scale | Basic pay ₹48480-2000/7-62480-2340/2-67160-2680/7-85920 plus allowances and perquisites as per the rules of the participating bank. |
| Bank of Baroda | 1900 |
| Bank of India | 500 |
| Bank of Maharashtra | 1100 |
| Canara Bank | 1500 |
| Central Bank of India | 500 |
| Indian Bank | 650 |
| Indian Overseas Bank | 550 |
| Punjab National Bank | 504 |
| Punjab & Sind Bank | 161 |
| UCO Bank | 200 |
| Union Bank of India | — |
| Online registration and fee payment (closed) | 01.07.2026 – 21.07.2026 |
| Updated vacancies (Annexure I) as on | 27 August 2026 |
| Preliminary exam (tentative) | August 2026 |
| Preliminary result (tentative) | September 2026 |
| Main call letter download (tentative) | September 2026 |
| Main exam (tentative; exact date not announced) | October 2026 |
| Main result (tentative) | November 2026 |
| Personality Test (tentative) | November 2026 |
| Interview (tentative) | November / December 2026 |
| Provisional allotment (tentative) | January 2027 |
| SC / ST / PwBD (inclusive of GST) | ₹175 |
| All others (inclusive of GST) | ₹850 |
The IBPS PO/MT-XVI Main exam is tentatively set for October 2026: it has 170 objective questions for 200 marks in 160 minutes, plus a 25-mark descriptive paper in 30 minutes, with 0.25 negative marking, and IBPS lists 7,565 indicative vacancies (updated 27.08.2026). The exact Main exam date and call-letter date are not in the official documents; only the month is given, as tentative. This is a bank job (Probationary Officer / Management Trainee) in 11 participating public sector banks for vacancies of 2027-28, not a central government department. Use only ibps.in for the call letter and updates.
When is the IBPS PO XVI Main exam?
The Main exam is tentatively scheduled for October 2026; the exact date is not given in the official documents.
Every date in the IBPS schedule is marked tentative:
| Stage | Tentative timing in the IBPS schedule |
|---|---|
| Preliminary exam | August 2026 |
| Preliminary result | September 2026 |
| Download of Main call letter | September 2026 |
| Main exam | October 2026 |
| Main result | November 2026 |
| Personality Test | November 2026 |
| Interview | November / December 2026 |
| Provisional allotment | January 2027 |
The exact Main date, shift and centre will be shown in the Main call letter, which candidates download from ibps.in using the registration number and password or date of birth. When this guide was written (12 October 2026), the IBPS PO/MT-XVI page listed documents only up to 27 August 2026 (the vacancy update and a corrigendum); it did not list a Main exam date or call-letter notice. Candidates must keep checking ibps.in for the Main call letter. IBPS also sends messages by email and SMS, but says it is not responsible for late or missed messages.
IBPS PO Main exam pattern, marks and negative marking
The Main exam has 4 objective tests (170 questions, 200 marks, 160 minutes) and a descriptive paper (2 questions, 25 marks, 30 minutes); each wrong answer costs 0.25 of that question’s marks.
| Test | Questions | Marks | Medium | Time |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reasoning | 40 | 60 | English & Hindi | 45 min |
| General / Economy / Banking Awareness (incl. Digital / Financial Awareness, RBI circulars) | 50 | 60 | English & Hindi | 35 min |
| English Language | 40 | 20 | English | 35 min |
| Data Analysis & Interpretation | 40 | 60 | English & Hindi | 45 min |
| Total (objective tests) | 170 | 200 | 160 min | |
| Descriptive Paper (Essay and Comprehension) | 2 | 25 | English | 30 min |
- Each test is separately timed, and the tests are not necessarily taken in this order (“NOT BY SEQUENCE” in the notification).
- Total exam time is 3 hours 10 minutes (160 + 30 minutes). With formalities, candidates may need to be at the venue for about 4 hours or more.
- Negative marking: for every wrong answer in the objective tests, one fourth (0.25) of the marks for that question is deducted. A blank answer carries no penalty.
- The descriptive paper is in English. It may be broadly based on economic and social issues, emerging trends in banking and technology, current events, ethics and similar topics, and may be evaluated by an automated scoring mechanism.
- The notification shows the objective tests as totalling 200 marks and lists the descriptive paper (25 marks) separately; it does not give one combined total.
The Preliminary exam that comes before the Main is structured as follows (candidates must reach the minimum cut-off, decided by IBPS, in each of the three tests):
| Test | Questions | Marks | Medium | Time |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| English Language | 30 | 30 | English | 20 min |
| Quantitative Aptitude | 35 | 30 | English & Hindi | 20 min |
| Reasoning Ability | 35 | 40 | English & Hindi | 20 min |
| Total | 100 | 100 | 60 min |
IBPS PO selection process, weightage and cut-off
After the Main exam comes a Personality Test and then an Interview; the final score is weighted 80:20 between the Main exam and the Interview.
- Preliminary exam (online).
- Main exam (objective plus descriptive). A minimum score is needed in each test and in total; cut-offs are decided by IBPS depending on the number of vacancies.
- Personality Test (self-report): not qualifying, but appearing in it is mandatory to be eligible for the Interview.
- Interview: 100 marks; minimum qualifying marks not less than 40% (35% for SC/ST/OBC/PwBD).
- Provisional allotment to one participating bank on a merit-cum-preference basis.
- Only the marks in the Main exam are used for shortlisting for the Personality Test and Interview and for the final merit list.
- Scores from different sessions, if held, are normalised using the equi-percentile method.
- Main exam scores are not shared with shortlisted candidates before the interview process is complete.
- If scores are tied, the older candidate is placed higher.
- A reserve list of about 20% of the vacancies in each category may be kept; it does not guarantee allotment.
- This is an all-India cadre; posting may be anywhere in India or outside India.
IBPS PO XVI vacancies by bank (updated 27.08.2026)
IBPS’s updated Annexure I of 27.08.2026 lists 7,565 indicative vacancies; Union Bank of India has not reported its numbers.
| Bank | SC | ST | OBC (NCL) | EWS | UR | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | 285 | 142 | 513 | 190 | 770 | 1,900 |
| Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
| Bank of Maharashtra | 165 | 82 | 297 | 110 | 446 | 1,100 |
| Canara Bank | 225 | 112 | 405 | 150 | 608 | 1,500 |
| Central Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
| Indian Bank | 122 | 60 | 199 | 52 | 217 | 650 |
| Indian Overseas Bank | 84 | 41 | 148 | 54 | 223 | 550 |
| Punjab National Bank | 76 | 38 | 136 | 50 | 204 | 504 |
| Punjab & Sind Bank | 24 | 13 | 47 | 15 | 62 | 161 |
| UCO Bank | 30 | 15 | 54 | 20 | 81 | 200 |
| Union Bank of India | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 1,161 | 577 | 2,069 | 741 | 3,017 | 7,565 |
- Source: the IBPS corrigendum and “Updated Vacancies as on 27.08.2026” (Annexure I). The total was 6,715 in the notification of 01.07.2026 and 7,365 in the update of 20.07.2026.
- Posts reserved for persons with benchmark disabilities (included in the totals): HI 86, OC 80, VI 77, ID 91.
- The figures may include backlog vacancies for some banks.
- IBPS says vacancies are indicative and anticipated as communicated by the banks; provisional allotment will follow the actual vacancies reported.
- A notice dated 07.08.2026 clarifies the disability categories suitable for the PO/MT post (locomotor/OC, VI, HI, and ID and others).
Eligibility, age limit, fee and pay
Any graduate aged 20 to 30 (as on 01.07.2026) was eligible; the fee was ₹850 (₹175 for SC/ST/PwBD), and registration closed on 21.07.2026.
- Qualification: a degree (graduation) in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification. The final result must have been declared on or before 21.07.2026.
- Age (as on 01.07.2026): minimum 20, maximum 30 years, that is born between 02.07.1996 and 01.07.2006 (both dates inclusive).
- Upper age relaxation: SC/ST 5 years; OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) 3 years; persons with benchmark disabilities 10 years; eligible ex-servicemen and commissioned officers 5 years (conditions apply).
- Nationality: citizen of India, or a subject of Nepal or Bhutan, a Tibetan refugee, or a person of Indian origin in the categories listed in the notification (these need a certificate of eligibility from the Government of India).
- Fee (inclusive of GST): ₹175 for SC/ST/PwBD; ₹850 for all others. Online registration and fee payment ran from 01.07.2026 to 21.07.2026.
- Pay: basic pay of ₹48480-2000/7-62480-2340/2-67160-2680/7-85920, plus allowances and perquisites as per the rules of the participating bank.
What to carry for the Main exam
For the Main exam you need the Main call letter, the authenticated or stamped Preliminary call letter with an authenticated copy of your ID proof, and your original photo ID.
- Download the valid Main call letter from ibps.in; no hard copy is sent by post or courier.
- Bring the authenticated/stamped Preliminary exam call letter and the authenticated/stamped photocopy of your ID proof. Candidates without them will not be allowed to take the Main exam.
- Carry the original photo ID with exactly the same name as on the call letter (for example PAN card, passport, permanent driving licence, voter’s card, Aadhaar or e-Aadhaar). A ration card and a learner’s driving licence are not accepted.
- Reach before the reporting time printed on the call letter; late candidates are not allowed in.
- Bring any other documents and photographs listed in the Information Handout and the call letter. Photograph and biometric (thumb impression) verification may be done.
- For the later interview stage, original documents and self-attested copies are needed (proof of date of birth, graduation mark-sheet, category certificate and others). The link to upload them will be given on ibps.in.
Official links
This information is taken from the official document linked above and explained in plain language. If you spot a mistake, tell us — we will check and correct it. Report a mistake →
FAQ
When is the IBPS PO XVI Main exam date?
The official documents give only the month: October 2026, as tentative. The exact date and the Main call-letter date are not announced in them (the call letter was tentatively planned for September 2026). Check ibps.in for the Main call letter.
How many marks is the IBPS PO Main exam?
The objective part has 170 questions for 200 marks in 160 minutes (Reasoning 60, General/Economy/Banking Awareness 60, English Language 20, Data Analysis & Interpretation 60). The descriptive paper adds 2 questions for 25 marks in 30 minutes. Wrong answers in objective tests carry a 0.25 penalty.
How many vacancies are there in IBPS PO XVI?
The IBPS update of 27.08.2026 lists 7,565 indicative vacancies: Bank of Baroda 1,900, Canara Bank 1,500, Bank of Maharashtra 1,100, Indian Bank 650, Indian Overseas Bank 550, Punjab National Bank 504, Bank of India 500, Central Bank of India 500, UCO Bank 200 and Punjab & Sind Bank 161. Union Bank of India has not reported.
What is the selection process and weightage in IBPS PO?
Preliminary exam, Main exam, Personality Test, Interview and provisional allotment. The Personality Test is not qualifying but is mandatory. The Interview carries 100 marks (minimum 40%, or 35% for SC/ST/OBC/PwBD), and the Main exam and Interview are weighted 80:20.
What are the eligibility and age limit for IBPS PO XVI?
A degree in any discipline (result declared by 21.07.2026) and age 20 to 30 years as on 01.07.2026, with relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST, 3 years for OBC (NCL) and 10 years for persons with benchmark disabilities. Registration closed on 21.07.2026.
This is an unofficial information website and is not linked to any government department. Always confirm on the official website before applying.